FAQ

Blower Door Test FAQs

Here you will find frequently asked questions (FAQ) and help with all aspects of airtightness of building envelopes and the certified Blower Door test. Do you have further questions about professional differential pressure measurement in your building? Just write us a message via our contact form or call us directly. We're here to help!

 

FAQ

What is a Blower Door test?

The Blower Door Test is a certified method for the reliable testing of airtight buildings. This is a so-called differential pressure measuring method. With modern technology, we calculate the air exchange rate at 50 Pascal between the inside and outside of a building with closed windows and doors.

How does a Blower Door test work?

The airtightness test can be carried out as soon as the building is completed. In order to guarantee the quality of an airtight building envelope, it is also advisable to carry out Blower Door tests at an earlier point in time. In this case, it is not an acceptance inspection, but a test for a high quality assurance.

On the agreed test date our technicians start with the installation of a calibrated differential pressure measuring system. For this purpose, an adjustable frame and an airtight panel are installed in an external door or window. With the help of a fan, a negative pressure of 50 Pascal is subsequently generated in the building. Leaks can get directly located.

50 Pascal corresponds to a wind force of 4 to 5. With a special Blower Door test software, the fan is controlled to check the air exchange rate. The volume flow on the fan is regulated with differently sized measuring orifices. After the negative pressure has been determined precisely, the positive pressure test follows.

What does the term airtightness mean?

The airtight level is assigned to the inside of the building envelope. An airtight building envelope has the important task of preventing heating air from leaking uncontrollably through joints and cracks in windows and doors. Moist air can as well enter through leaks and evaporate as thaw water. Especially in the winter months, molds are formed so quickly and the performance of the insulating materials used is lost in the long term. Brickwork, for example, is only airtight when plastered.

What are the advantages of a professional differential pressure measurement?

The professional airtightness test may only be carried out by a certified "airtightness tester according to DIN EN 13829 or ISO 9972".

The examiner performs the following tasks:

  • comparison of the requirements from the Energy Savings Regulation calculation and the thermal insulation certificate
  • recording the natural pressure difference in the building
  • leakage detection with a reliable statement on site
  • conducting a differential pressure measurement in accordance with the standard
  • preparation of a test report including leakage protocol

Is a Blower Door test mandatory for office buildings and industrial buildings?

As soon as a ventilation system is installed in the building, a Blower Door test must always be carried out. Otherwise there is a risk that the heat recovery of the ventilation system will not be taken into account.

But also for all other buildings a Blower Door test with a positive result is worthy. You will sustainably improve the annual primary energy requirement!

What should be considered for buildings without ventilation systems?

Even buildings without a ventilation system must be airtight. According to the current requirements of the German Energy Savings Regulation (EnEV), an air exchange rate of 50 Pascal (n50 value) of <3.0 l / h is required for this. In practice, however, it can be seen that most buildings already fall below the n50 value at <1.0 1 / h. In this case, the ventilation concept according to DIN EN 1946-6 should be checked at the start of construction. Possibly further ventilation measures, such as the installation of an exhaust system or window rebate ventilation is necessary.

How long does a Blower Boor test take in large buildings?

The actual measurement including leakage location usually takes two to three hours depending on the building volume. By contrast, the building preparation and installation of the ventilation technology is somewhat more extensive. In large buildings, several fans are used during the Blower Door test. The professional construction of six blowers can take up to two hours.

What should be considered when carrying out an XXL Blower Door test abroad?

  1. Firstly, we clarify the building parameters, such as the net volume and area of ​​the thermal envelope. This allows us to correctly calculate the number of units and transport right from the start.
  2. Our differential pressure gauges require a mains frequency of 220 volts and 50 hearts for trouble-free operation.
  3. Ideally, during the construction of the building sealing, it is discussed which parts are sealed. We keep this information in a report for you!
  4. Since there must be equal pressure in the building, we must also check in advance the exact installation locations for our measuring instruments.
  5. In advance, we discuss the weather conditions and features at the location with you. For large buildings, problems with natural pressure difference can occur even at wind force 2.
  6. We play safe: With the help of a modern infrared thermal imaging camera, we reliably detect leaks even on high-altitude components.

Who is allowed to carry out the certified airtightness test?

This is only possible with a certified auditor for building airtightness in the sense of the Energy Savings Regulation. Alternatively, the test may also be performed by an approved inspector in accordance with ISO 20807 "air-tightness testing".

Which devices does our rösemeier. team use for the Blower Door test?

For reliable results, we only use systems from the market leader Minneapolis Blower Door, because the devices are calibrated to ISO 9972.

And which devices are used for infrared thermography?

In building thermography, we work exclusively with the proven technology of the market leader Flir-Systems for exact measurements.

How much is a XXL Blower Door test?

The costs for an XXL Blower Door test were based on various factors, such as:  building volume, transport, number of blowers on site, sealing measures, etc. We calculate each offer individually based on a detailed conversation. Do not hesitate to ask for a general agreement, which contains a certain number of Blower Door tests for housing estates etc.

What values does the Blower Door test report contain and what do they mean?

The n50 value describes the air exchange rate at 50 pascals. This information provides information about the heated internal volume (V). The value is the air volume, which is exchanged per hour in the building at 50 Pascal pressure difference from inside to outside.

For the q50 value, the air permeability through the building shell at 50 pascals per hour is paramount.

In the Blower Door test report for buildings with a net volume of up to 1,500 m³, the evaluation is based on the n50 value. For larger buildings with more than 1,500m³ volume, according to Energy Savings Regulation requirements, the q50 value must be determined. Separately and independently, of course, both values ​​can be calculated on request.

These other important parameters are included in every Blower Door test report:

  • leakage current at 50 Pascal
  • natural pressure difference
  • flow coefficient
  • leakage coefficient
  • volume flow through the building envelope
  • evaluation of the leakage curve
  • condition of the building envelope including leak log

Which Energy Savings Regulation requirements for airtightness of buildings exist?

The Energy Savings Regulation requires the following airtightness values ​​for buildings with a ventilation system:

  • n50 value ≤ 1.5 1 / hq
  • 50 value ≤ 2.5 m³ / h x m²

 

For buildings without ventilation system, the following specifications apply:

  • n50 value ≤ 3.0 1 / h
  • q50 value ≤ 4.5 m³ / h x m²

What to do if the Blower Door test fails?

In this case, a detailed leakage log should be created that can easily identify air inlets or leaks. After eliminating these leaks, we recommend carrying out a new Blower Door test.

FAQ

Blower Door Test FAQs

Hier finden Sie häufig gestellte Fragen (FAQ) und Hilfestellungen rund um das Thema Luftdichtheitvon Gebäudehüllen und dem zertifizierten Blower Door Test. Sie haben weitere Fragen zur professionellen Differenzdruckmessung in Ihrem Gebäude? Schreiben Sie uns einfach eine Nachricht über unser Kontaktformular oder rufen Sie uns direkt an. Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

FAQ

Was ist ein Blower Door Test?

Der Blower Door Test ist ein zertifiziertes Verfahren zur zuverlässigen Prüfung der Luftdichtheit von Gebäuden. Es handelt sich hierbei um ein sogenanntes Differenzdruck-Messverfahren. Mit moderner Messtechnik wird berechnet, wie hoch die Wechselrate der Luft bei 50 Pascal Luftdruckdifferenz zwischen innen und außen in einem Gebäude bei geschlossenen Fenstern und Türen ist.

Wie funktioniert ein Blower Door Test?

Die Luftdichtheitsprüfung kann erfolgen, sobald das Gebäude fertig gestellt ist. Um die Qualität einer luftdichten Gebäudehülle zu gewährleisten, ist die Durchführung von Blower Door Tests aber auch zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt sinnvoll. In diesem Fall handelt es sich nicht um eine Abnahmemessung, sondern um Tests für eine hohe Qualitätssicherung.

An dem vereinbarten Messtermin starten unsere Techniker mit dem Einbau eines kalibrierten Differenzdruckmesssystems. Dafür wird ein verstellbarer Rahmen und eine luftdichte Folie in eine außenliegende Tür oder ein Fenster eingebaut. Mit Hilfe eines Ventilators wird anschließend ein Unterdruck von 50 Pascal im Gebäude erzeugt. Leckagen können so gezielt geortet werden.

50 Pascal entsprechen einer Windstärke 4 bis 5. Mit spezieller Blower Door Test Software wird der Ventilator angesteuert, um die Luftwechselrate zu prüfen. Reguliert wird der Volumenstrom am Ventilator mit unterschiedlich großen Messblenden. Nachdem der Unterdruck präzise ermittelt wurde, folgt die Überdruckmessung.

Was bedeutet der Begriff Luftdichtheit?

Die luftdichte Ebene wird der innen Gebäudehülle zugeordnet. Eine luftdichte Gebäudehülle hat die wichtige Aufgabe zu vermeiden, dass Heizwärme unkontrolliert über Fugen und Ritze an Fenster und Türen austritt. Durch Undichtigkeiten kann aber auch feuchte Luft von außen in Bauteile gelangen und als Tauwasser kondensieren. Gerade in den Wintermonaten bilden sich so schnell Schimmelpilze und die Leistungsfähigkeit der eingesetzten Dämmmaterialien geht langfristig verloren. Mauerwerk ist zum Beispiel erst luftdicht, wenn es verputzt wurde.

Was sind die Vorteile einer professionellen Differenzdruckmessung?

Die professionelle Luftdichtheitsprüfung darf nur einem zertifizierten „Prüfer für Luftdichtheit nach DIN EN 13829 oder ISO 9972“ durchgeführt werden.

Folgende Aufgaben führt der Prüfer aus:

  • Abgleich der Anforderungen aus EnEV Berechnung und Wärmschutznachweis
  • Aufnahme der natürlichen Druckdifferenz im Gebäude
  • Leckageortung mit einer zuverlässigen Aussage vor Ort
  • Durchführung einer Differenzdruckmessreihe gemäß der Norm
  • Anfertigung eines Prüfberichts inklusive Leckageprotokoll

Besteht eine Blower Door Test Pflicht für Bürogebäude und Industriebauten?

Sobald eine Lüftungsanlage im Objekt eingebaut wird, muss in jedem Fall ein Blower Door Test durchgeführt werden. Sonst besteht die Gefahr, dass die Wärmerückgewinnung der Lüftungsanlage nicht mit angerechnet wird.

Aber auch für alle weiteren Gebäude lohnt sich ein Blower Door Test mit positivem Messergebnis. Sie werden damit nachhaltig den Jahres-Primär-Energiebedarf verbessern!

Was ist bei Gebäuden ohne Lüftungsanlagen zu beachten?

Auch Gebäude ohne Lüftungsanlage müssen luftdicht sein. Hierfür wird laut den aktuellen Vorgaben der Energieeinsparverordnung (EnEV) eine Luftwechselrate bei 50 Pascal (n50-Wert) von < 3,0 1/h gefordert. In der Praxis zeigt sich jedoch, dass die meisten Gebäude den n50-Wert schon bei < 1,0 1/h unterschreiten. In diesem Fall sollte das Lüftungskonzept nach DIN EN 1946-6 schon bei Baubeginn überprüft werden. Eventuell werden weitere lüftungstechnische Maßnahmen, wie z. B. der Einbau einer Abluftanlage oder von Fensterfalzlüftern, notwendig.

Wie lange dauert ein Blower Door Test in großen Gebäuden?

Die eigentliche Messung inklusive Leckageortung dauert in der Regel, abhängig vom Gebäudevolumen, zwei bis drei Stunden. Etwas umfangreicher gestaltet sich hingegen die Gebäudevorbereitung und Installation der Lüftungstechnik. In großen Gebäuden kommen bei dem Blower Door Test gleich mehrere Ventilatoren zum Einsatz. Der fachmännische Aufbau von sechs Gebläsen kann bis zu zwei Stunden in Anspruch nehmen.

Was ist bei der Durchführung eines XXL-Blower Door Test im Ausland zu beachten?

  1. Als Erstes klären wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen die Gebäudekenngrößen, wie Nettovolumen und Fläche der thermischen Hülle. So können wir Geräteanzahl und Transport von Anfang an richtig kalkulieren.
  2. Unsere Differenzdruckmessgeräte benötigen für einen störungsfreien Betrieb eine Netzfrequenz von 220 Volt und 50 Hertz.
  3. Idealerweise wird in der Bauphase der Gebäudeabdichtung bereits besprochen, welche Teile wie abgedichtet werden. Diese Informationen halten wir in einem Bericht für Sie fest!
  4. Da im Gebäude ein gleichanliegender Druck herrschen muss, müssen wir im Vorfeld auch die genauen Einbauorte für unsere Messgeräte überprüfen.
  5. Vorab besprechen wir mit Ihnen auch die Wetterverhältnisse und -besonderheiten am Standort. Bei großen Gebäuden können schon ab Windstärke 2 Probleme bei der natürlichen Druckdifferenz auftreten.
  6. Wir gehen auf Nummer Sicher: Mit Hilfe einer modernen Infrarot-Wärmebildkamera erkennen wir selbst an hoch gelegenen Bauteilen zuverlässig undichte Stellen.

Wer darf die zertifizierte Luftdichtheitsmessung durchführen?

Dies ist nur mit einem zertifizierten Prüfer für Gebäude-Luftdichtheit im Sinne der Energieeinsparverordnung möglich. Alternativ kann die Messung auch ein zugelassener Prüfer nach ISO 20807 „Gebäude-Luftdichtheitsprüfung (airthightness testing)“ vornehmen.

Welche Geräte verwendet unser Rösemeier Team für den Blower Door Test?

Für zuverlässige Ergebnisse setzen wir ausschließlich Systeme des Marktführers Minneapolis Blower Door ein, da die Geräte nach ISO 9972 kalibriert sind.

Und welche Geräte kommen für die Infrarot-Thermografie zum Einsatz?

Bei der Gebäude-Thermografie arbeiten wir ausschließlich mit der bewährten Technik des Marktführers Flir-Systems für exakte Messungen.

Was kostet ein XXL-Blower Door Test?

Die Kosten für einen XXL-Blower Door Test orientierten sich an verschiedenen Faktoren, wie z. B. Gebäudevolumen, Transport, Anzahl der Gebläse vor Ort, Abdichtungsmaßnahmen etc. Wir kalkulieren jedes Angebot individuell auf Basis eines ausführlichen Gesprächs. Fragen Sie gerne auch nach Rahmenangeboten, die bestimmte Anzahl an Blower Door Tests für Wohnsiedlungen etc. enthalten.

Welche Werte enthält der Blower Door Prüfbericht und was bedeuten sie?

Der n50-Wert beschreibt die Luftwechselrate bei 50 Pascal. Diese Angabe gibt Aufschluss über das beheizte Innenvolumen (V). Der Wert beziffert das Luftvolumen, welches pro Stunde im Gebäude bei 50 Pascal Druckdifferenz von innen nach außen ausgetauscht wird.

Bei dem q50-Wert steht die Luftdurchlässigkeit durch die Gebäudehülle bei 50 Pascal pro Stunde im Vordergrund.

Im Blower Door Prüfbericht für Gebäude mit einem Nettovolumen bis 1.500m³ basiert die Auswertung auf dem n50-Wert. Bei größeren Gebäuden mit mehr als 1.500m³ Volumen muss laut EnEV Anforderungen der q50-Wert ermittelt werden. Gesondert und unabhängig können auf Wunsch natürlich auch beide Werte berechnet werden.

Diese weiteren wichtigen Parameter sind in jedem Blower Door Prüfbericht enthalten:

  • Leckagestrom bei 50 Pascal
  • natürliche Druckdifferenz
  • Strömungskoeffizient
  • Leckagekoeffizient
  • Volumenstrom durch die Gebäudehülle
  • Auswertung der Leckagekurve
  •  Zustand der Gebäudehülle inklusive Leckageprotokoll

Welche EnEV-Anforderungen an die Luftdichtheit von Gebäuden gibt es?

Die Energieeinsparverordnung fordert für Gebäude mit Lüftungsanlage folgende Luftdichtheits-Werte:

  • n50 Wert von  ≤ 1,5 1/h
  • q50 Wert von ≤ 2,5 m³/h x m²

 

Für Gebäude ohne Lüftungsanlage gelten folgende Vorgaben:

  • n50 Wert von  ≤ 3,0 1/h
  • q50 Wert von ≤ 4,5 m³/h x m²

Was ist zu tun, wenn der Blower Door Test nicht bestanden wird?

In diesem Fall sollte ein ausführliches Leckage-Protokoll erstellt werden, in dem Lufteintritte bzw. undichten Stellen mühelos erkennbar sind. Nach Beseitigung dieser Leckagen empfehlen wir einen neuen Blower Door Test durchzuführen.